Crystal Symmetry

Crystal symmetry is due to the proper arrangement of atoms. This arrangement of atoms is known as the lattice. In crystals there are three dimensions of atoms. Such arrangements are known as the space lattice. The imaginary lines drawn by the crystal lattice are known as the crystallographic axis. The fixing of the lattice points refers to the angular relationship and also the possibility of the development of crystal faces. In a perfectly ordered lattice, the angular relationships between crystal faces are faithful and known as the law of the faithfulness of different faces. The repetition of proper cell units at regular intervals is known as translational symmetry.

The center of symmetry, symmetry of symmetry, planes of symmetry, etc. are known as symmetrical elements. A point or a line about where the operation of the symmetry is carried out is known as the element of symmetry. An un-translational movement of something that makes a new orientation that can not be identified from the original one.

A center of symmetry is a point in a crystal, where if the lines are drawn, they will see faces at equal distances from such point. A crystal can have many axis of great symmetry and planets of great proportion but it can only have one center of symmetry. An axis of symmetry is an axis where if a crystal is rotated for 360 degrees, similar faces will appear. Such repetition is known as a self-invasion or invariance. For example, minerals belonging to the cubic system contain thirteen axis of good proportion. A plane of symmetry is a plane where if a crystal is cut into two halves, half is the mirror image of one. For example, minerals belonging to the cubic system have nine planets of good weight.

Roto inversion operation involves the same operation of rotation and inversion. Translational translation involves observation and translation operations. Inversion is an important symmetry operation.

The study of symmetry is important to define crystals, to understand their atomic structure, and physical properties related to mechanics, optics, electricity, magnetism, etc.

The orientation of the crystallographic axis is variable in some crystallographic systems. There are six major crystallographic systems such as cubic, tetragonal, hexagonal, orthorhombic, monoclinic, and triclinic. The cubic system has three axis of equal length. All three axes are separated from each other by ninety degrees. The vertical axis is longer than the remaining two axis in the tetragonal system but all are separate from each other by ninety degrees. There are four crystallographic axes in the hexagonal system. Three of them have equal length but the vertical one is longer axes. The orthorhombic axes are similar to the matching box. An axes are inclined to the monoclinic system. All three axes are inclined to the triclinc system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *